CARROT, CUMIN & KIDNEY BEAN BURGER

This recipe looked so yummy I thought I would pass it on to my readers!

JACK MONROE

Photography by Susan Bell. Photography by Susan Bell.

This burger is where the media storm began, and dubbed ‘the 9p burger’ because of the low cost of the ingredients used to make it, it’s one of my most popular recipes. A can of value range red kidney beans is a cheap but excellent source of protein and I built a lot of my early cooking around it. When my toddler asked me for burgers for tea, I made him these, and they became a firm staple in my household. I triple the recipe to make a batch of them, and freeze them in patties to whip out at a moment’s notice and fry on a low heat.

Makes 4 generous burgers:

1 x 400g tin of kidney beans
1 onion, peeled and finely chopped
1 carrot, grated
1 teaspoon ground cumin
a handful of fresh coriander, finely chopped
a splash of oil, plus 2…

View original post 326 more words

Leave a Reply

