Don’t be a Jerk…Pork It!

IMG_1474One of my favourite “spicy” dishes is jerk.   I love jerk chicken and jerk pork.  I also hate the rain, so this chilly rainy day in October I decided to make some oven roasted Jerk Pork.  Traditionally Jerk Pork is made with Scotch Bonnet Peppers  – which I love and actually have a JIYK (Joy In Your Kitchen)  Hot Sauce Line – which 3 of 4 sauces are made of Scotch Bonnets – but I really like jerk turned down a notch, so I use jalapeno peppers instead. I will give the instructions using different variations of heat.

(Don’t be a) Jerk Marinade.

3LB + Pork Roast or Chicken Wings, Chicken Thigh etc

Marinade

  • jerk chicken IMG_1465 IMG_1466 IMG_1468 IMG_1469 IMG_1472 IMG_1474  2 Jalapenos (mild) or Scotch Bonnet Pepper(hot)  – chopped, with seeds and membranes -** heat hint see below**
  • 1/2 tb dried thyme
  • 2 tsp salt (table salt)
  • 1TB brown sugar
  • 2 tsp all spice
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon ( I used Mexican cinnamon)
  • 1/3 c sodium reduced soy sauce
  • 2 TB vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c white vinegar
  • 1/2 cup chopped white onion
  • 1/2 c Mango Juice
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (or 2 cloves)
  • 1 tsp minced ginger/ ginger paste
  • 1/2 oz dark rum
  • 2 -3 drops bitters

Puree all items except for pork/chicken in food processor.  I cut almost thru my roast because I like the seasoning thru.  Pour marinade over meat and marinate for a minimum of 2 hrs.

Take meat out of fridge, while oven is coming to temperature.

Heat oven to 450 degrees.  Line a baking dish with tinfoil and place a rack on top.  Using extra long skewers to “reattach” the roast together and place over baking dish.  Pour about a cup of marinade over meat.  Reserve remaining marinade.

Bake at 450 for 20 mins, reduce heat to 325.

Pour about another 1 cup of marinade over meat and roast until the internal temperature is 160 degrees. (3 LB about 75-90- min).

Allow to meat to rest for 15 -30 minutes before serving.  enJoy!

 

Love this recipe?  Let me know! I love likes comments and follows!

**to bring the heat down, seed these jalapenos, to bring the heat level up – substitute scotch bonnet peppers (seeded) or up it further by removing the stem of the scotch bonnets but adding the seeds & membranes into the marinade.

Leave a Reply

