Get Spicy with Spicy Remoulade & Spicy ‘Slaw

I’m starting this post out with an apology for the delay between posts – you know how it goes – sometimes life just gets away from you!  But have no fear I am back (do you hear and ominous voice in your head  saying “Be afraid – be very afraid”?) and ready to blog so lets get to it!

As some of my readers know I love southern food, one of the classic things I like about summer – southern food is Spicy Slaw (Coleslaw).  This recipe is my favorite – in fact my 7 year old and I had a argument about who was getting the last bit of slaw when we had it last!  My version features spicy version of classic Remoulade classic southern sauce) mixed  with shredded cabbage, carrots and onion, but also is great as a chip dip or dip for Fish Cakes, such as my Catfish Cakes.

We eat everything quite spicy, and this sauce is no exception, however you can play with the heat level by reducing the hot sauce added.  Pictured with the only Gluten Free Beer I have found that actually tastes like a lager and is GOOD!  (Thank you Bard’s!)

Spicy Slaw

spicy slaw served with fishcakes

  • Shredded Cabbage, Carrot s & Onion (or use broccoli slaw)
  • Remoulade Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

Remoulade Sauce

remoulade ingredients

  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1 tsp Horseradish (we use hot)
  • 1-2 tsp hot sauce (Franks or Louisiana Sauce)
  • 2 TB Creole Mustard
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 – 2 TB (kosher is better) dill pickle juice (or vinegar)
  • 1-2 tsp Andy Roo’s Creole Seasonings

Now first off, if you look at my photo carefully (sorry was taken with my phone – seem to have misplaced my camera) I actually used Dijon mustard – on account of I was out of creole mustard (better place an order with Mississippi Queen Foods yikes!) but still wanted spicy slaw.   In any case, add all ingredients to a small bowl, and combine (I use a mini whisk) and refrigerate for a min of 30 min to let the flavours come together.  Add generously to the cabbage/carrots and serve.  P.S. this is awesome to dip your french fries into as well!

This will keep in the fridge for up to a week – but good luck making it last that long.   enJoy!

Like this recipe? Let me know! Like it and Comment! Follow me!  Check out my business page on Facebook and my website. 

3 responses to “Get Spicy with Spicy Remoulade & Spicy ‘Slaw

  1. Pingback: Spicy Strawberry-Lime-arita Recipe | Nosh My Way

  2. Pingback: Simple Tastey Grilled Lamb Chops | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Give your fish a little kick | Common Sense LivingCommon Sense Living

Leave a Reply

