Aside

Forget Creepy-Crawlies-This is a Crispy-Cobbler

I did it! A few days ago I posted about a recipe that I came across for Peach Crisp made out of a cake mix and stated that although the recipe didn’t thrill me  – the fact that 111 people rated this recipe an average of 4.5/5.  I had to see what the fuss was about.  In true “Joy” fashion I did change it up a little.   The original recipe called for 1 can of peaches in syrup – I substituted fresh peaches & blue berries for the canned peaches and added a bit of extra water +2 TB sugar – because  I like fresh.  The second substitution I did was to use a Gluten Free (Betty Crocker) cake mix rather than a regular cake mix.  Frankly, I was expecting it to be more of a cobbler than a crisp.

Surprisingly, it didn’t turn out as “bad” as I thought – crispier than a cobbler, but different than a traditional crisp.

The results:  on a score of 1(low)-5 (high):
Ease of recipe: 5,  Taste:  my score: 4 for what it was but only a 2 if you are looking for a traditional “Crisp”  recipe.  My 6 year old only gave it a 3 but she ate it warm and it definitely tastes better once its cooled down.

Here is the recipe with my modifications.  Click here to link to the original recipe. 

Peach & Blueberry Crispy Cobbler

Ingredients:

  • 1 pint blueberries
  • 4 peaches – peeled and sliced
  • water (about 1/2 cup (i used a little too much and it took longer to cook) + 2TB sugar
  • 1 cup sugar – divided into 2, 1/2 cups
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 box of Gluten free Yellow Cake mix
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon divided into 1 tsp each

Method:

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease 9 x 13 glass baking pan lightly.

Place blueberries and peaches in the bottom of the pan.  Pour water over top  until just covered (I put a bit too much in and had to increase my cooking time by about 15 minutes).

Add 1/2 c sugar and mix. Sprinkle 1 tsp of cinnamon over top.

Pour (unmixed) cake mix powder over top, and use your finger to make “holes” to allow the water to come up.
Place pats of margarine all over the top.  Sprinkle with remaining sugar and cinnamon.
Bake for 25-30 min or until the top is browned & crusty.  (My advice) Cool before serving.  enJOY.

I love comments and feedback!  Don’t forget to like my blog!  Want more? visit my website: http://mealsfromjoyskitchen.com

One response to “Forget Creepy-Crawlies-This is a Crispy-Cobbler

  1. Pingback: Peach Cobbler – A Southern Tradition | Lil' Suburban Homestead

Leave a Reply

