Thankful to be Alive: Fish with Sweet & New Potato Fry(s)

 

Over the last week or so I have had 2 friends, and fellow business owners  experience two separate accidents that have left them either in the hospital or immobilized for a given period of time.  It really goes to show you how precious life is and how unpredictable it can be, how a misstep on the stairs or a bad decision can have undetermined consequences and can affect you and your loved ones for the rest of your life.  Its been a week or so of reflection for me – and I’m choosing to post today about the Little Things to be Thankful for,  because regardless of the “bigger is better” analogy so prevalent in our society today, sometimes all you need to look at is a whole lot of small things to truly appreciate what you have in life.

Big – Little Things to be Thankful for.

  1. I am thankful for the use of my legs and the ability to run after my kids and dogs (even if they are driving me crazy or I’m picking up doggie doo doo!)
  2. I am thankful for the love of my family, both kin and friends that are like family,  that I know would rally around to help out if something were to happen.
  3. I am thankful for this day, weather good or bad, thankful to be alive to experience it.
  4. I’m thankful for the ability to reach for and pick up that toy/paper/item that my kids have left on the floor for the millionth time.
  5. I’m thankful for the support I have in my life, friends, family, readership, customers, suppliers.
  6. Finally I am thankful to live here, a country that despite our high taxes, one that provides hospital care to all, with or without insurance.  

Thankful to be Alive:
Fish with Sweet & New Potato Fry(s)

We love sweet potato and new potato fries – well all accept the “fried” part.  These are my version pictured in medallions but we make “regular” shaped fries too  – oven baked but so, so good.  We are also huge fish fans here – yes, even the 4 and 6 year old.  In fact when I make fish – even after saying grace, no one starts eating until Mommy sits for dinner.  Otherwise the kids will have eaten all their fish and want mine before I even get a bite!   Interestingly enough, we ordered in traditional deep fried “Fish & Chips” one night – and the kids didn’t like the fish! I think its the only time we ever had left over fish!  We love sole, salmon, basa, catfish, pickerel, bass, shrimp, lobster, crab, scallops, etc. etc here.  Here’s our simple (but favorite) way of making sole, you can substitute any mild fish you like.

Fish:

1 LB sole (or as many fillets as you need), thawed if frozen.
Extra Virgin Olive Oil (or oil of choice)
S & P (salt and pepper)

“Fries”

2 large (5-7″) sweet potatoes – peeled
4-6 white potatoes washed and peeled (if desired) (if using new potatoes washed only)
Extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
cajun seasoning, cinnamon or seasoning of choice

Method:

Preheat oven to 425.  Cut up white potatoes into fries.  Soak in water mixed with sugar and salt.  (The sugar helps them to brown but does not affect taste), for about 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, cut up sweet potatoes into fries.  When white potatoes are finished soaking, drain and pat dry.  In a large freezer bag or bowl, add both types of potatoes, a bit more EVOO and the seasoning of choice (if using – we simply use a little black pepper and a dash of cinnamon some times).  Shake or massage in until well coated.  Pour potatoes  onto a (ungreased) cookie sheet (stoneware works really well for this).  Bake at 425 for about 45 minutes, flipping once during cooking time.   While fries are baking, pat the fish dry, and on a separate pan (we use one with sides to stop any liquid from spilling) add the fish, brush with EVOO and dash with S&P.  Add to oven on top rack in the   10 minutes of cooking  (time will vary depending on thickness of fish).  Remove fries from oven, and flip fish over – place back in oven on 450 or broil for 3 mins until crispy.  Plate fries, pull fish from oven, plate fish,  serve with steamed veggies, a salad or coleslaw!  enJOY!

I love to hear your comments, reviews, feedback! If you like what I’m posting – please “like” my post and visit my facebook or webpage!  Want to share my ideas with your followers?  I’m available to guest post as well!

Have something you want to say?  Submit your idea for a guest post on my blog!

 

7 responses to “Thankful to be Alive: Fish with Sweet & New Potato Fry(s)

  1. I love fish and sweet potato fries, and I too am thankful to be alive today. I think more folks should remember the kinds of things you mention, we’d be happier and healthier.

    Like

  2. Good post!I accidently found your site on the internet, I am going to be coming back here yet again.

    Gourmet Secrets Canada

    Like

  3. Thanks for following my blog. Kind regards.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Simply Baked Salmon | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

  5. Thank you for dropping by my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

