A Sweet Quest or a Quest for Sweets?

I finally hit the wall… the sweets wall.  Trying to eat Gluten Free while cooking & running a cooking business for a living is difficult, and some times you just need a nice little pick me up. Unfortunately most sweet little pick me ups contain wheat – including my all time fave candy – red licorice… yes there is wheat in red licorice!   Who knew!  In my quest to satisfy my sweet tooth without going broke (went to the Gluten Free Bakery the other day and spent $10 on 2 (regular sized) cookies + 1 small square) I decided to try Black Bean Brownies.  I know – some of you just barfed a little in your mouth right? Beans – Brownies – GROSS! – Wrong! So good! The beans serve as the binding ingredient instead of flour, and all ingredients are blended or pureed so that the batter looks just like regular brownie batter.  The result a yummy Kid Approved – slightly lighter in texture tasting delicious brownies!
Kid 1 (age 6) gave it a 10 – These are AWESOME Mom!  and Kid 2 (age 4) – Yum – can I have these for breakfast?
We love peanut butter here so I added it into this recipe.  I would usually use Stevia  however I didn’t have any available so I used sugar instead.  Next time I would also pump up the instant coffee and use dark chocolate and make it into a Latte Brownie.  Try it and let me know what you think!

Peanut Butter – Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients:

  • Peanut Butter (1/4-1/2c)
  • 1 –  15.5 oz can Black Beans – drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp instant coffee (grinds)

3/4 Cup white sugar (or equivalent in Stevia)

  • 3 TB oil (safflower oil is ideal – or used EVOO or Vegetable oil)
  • 3 eggs (can try  flax eggs if you are vegan)

1 tsp vanilla

  • 1/4 cup Cocoa Powder
  • pinch salt
  • my secret ingredient: 3 milk chocolate/peanut butter cups (or use
    1/2 c milk chocolate chips)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat Oven to 350 & lightly grease 8 X 8 square dish

Beat the eggs slightly in large bowl.  Drain & rinse black beans – add to bowl with eggs, add the rest of the ingredients except
peanut butter cups and peanut butter.

Use a hand mixer with wand (or place all ingredients in a blender or food processor) and blend until smooth.
Pour half of the mixture into the pan. Chop up the cups and sprinkle on top.  Melt peanut butter (25 seconds in microwave) and pour 1/2 of it all over brownie mixture.

Pour the other half of the brownie mixture on top.  Pour rest of melted peanut butter on top and swirl it through the brownie mixture with the end of a butter knife.
Place in oven and bake for about 40 mins, or until the sides are coming a way from the pan.  The brownie should look set but not completely solid.  Allow to cool in pan for a 1/2 hr before removing (this will allow the middle to set).

enJOY!  & leave me a comment to let me know what you think!  Don’t forget to follow me on
Facebook and Twitter (joyskitchen) 


2 responses to “A Sweet Quest or a Quest for Sweets?

  1. Hi,
    Just found your blog clicking through some other wordpress blogs. Good luck with your journey to gluten-free! I did it last summer due to chronic fatigue, and after making the leap, realized that I have some sort of wheat or gluten intolerance too. It’s been difficult at times, and I sometimes would “treat” myself to something wheat filled (which I finally realized were not treats at all, b/c they made me feel awful afterwards), but overall, I feel so much better since I’ve cut gluten. My blog is mainly gluten free recipes and healthy food tips, and how it can help with chronic fatigue – if you ever need any advice about going GF, I’m happy to help! There’s lots of great blogs, as I’m sure you’ve discovered.
    Black bean brownies have been something I’ve been intrigued by but also a little skeptical of – but these look great! (and gluten in licorice?! – I’m still learning too!)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: 5 Tips to Turn Your Favourite Dish Gluten-Free by: Bridget Sandorford | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

