My 7 Steps to Get Healthy & Green Tea Iced Tea!

Alright – I will be the first to say it – Failure on the getting to exercise classes!  However – I have been making an effort to go for jogs walks with the kids and my obliques and abs can tell you  all about the planks I’ve been doing in the evenings.   In the meantime – I also started seeing a Naturalpath because I have felt just “not right”.  Well low and behold – after taking a look at my symptoms and my last 2 sets of blood work – turns out, its suspected I have some food in-tolerances, my B12 and iron are low and my thyroid is still not being controlled properly (this is not a surprise – my MD and I have been trying to get it stable for about a year).   Well what do all of these symptom have in common in the human body?  They have a cumulative effect of overall tiredness, unrest, stress, no energy and reduced adrenal activity!  OK, so maybe I wasn’t quit as lazy as I thought – well maybe as lazy – but not without an excuse!  So my new self mandate is to GET WELL – that includes trying to eliminate Gluten (one of my suspected in-tolerances),  as well as other items suggested by my ND, and get my butt moving!

  Pause for my Epic Fail this week:   I made french toast with strawberries  for the kids for lunch and enjoyed it with them, then realized after that gluten, strawberries and eggs and are all the list of foods for me to avoid while figuring our in-tolerances!  Oops)

Get Healthy Plan

  1. The first step  this week was to try and cut down/eliminate gluten.  Not as hard as you would think actually – this week (my first week) I simply made easy adjustments to my diet – bought some gluten free bread for my toast (I love toast for breakfast!), and changed out any white rice to brown.  I tried some Brown Rice Gluten Free Pasta  – which was great!
  2. The entire family loved it with my Marinara Joy Sauce and homemade meatballs (gluten free breadcrumbs).
  1. Added a lot more Quinoa both hot and cold.
  2. Get weekly B12 shots – yup I was THAT low – so far I have had 3 shots and am starting to feel more energy and less “brain fog”.
  3. Add Flax seed to my dishes to help with my cholesterol (yes I am one of those people that have high cholesterol despite healthy eating habits! Grrr, at least my “good cholesterol” offsets my bad cholesterol so I don’t currently have to take any meds for it.
  4. Take a Vitimin D supplement – ok, so I knew that baby’s needed Vit D when they were being breast fed – but I had no idea adults (sometimes) need to take it too for gut strength (due to the damage caused by eating foods I am in-tolerant too)  and to help streghten my immune system.
  5. Incorporate Green Tea. OK I am supposed to be drinking at least 3 cups a day of decafe green tea – however a tea drinker I am not!   I do really enjoy Iced Tea though – so what I do now is make a pitcher of Green Tea and sweeten with Svevia (vanilla) (plant based sugar substitute), and keep it in the fridge – now I drink about 1 litre – 1.5 litres (or more) daily! recipe for Green Tea Ice Tea, below.
  6. Get off my ass and walk/run/jog/move/plank/Pilates/yoga/kettleball/exercise whenever possible

Next Weeks additional steps 

  1. Walk for 30 min (or run or jg etc) 3 times next week.
  2. Start Meditating – I’m thinking I am going to get a CD since I really don’t know how to do this ….
  3. Get Stricter in Gluten Free Diet … (more quinoa anyone?)

 Green Tea Iced Tea

This for me is the easiest way to get the benefits of green tea without having to drink hot tea.

This is what you need.

  •  Decafe Green Tea tea bags (3 per 1.5 litre)
  • 1.5 Litre’s hot boiling water
  • 3 packets of a plant based sweetner (or 6 tsp sugar if you eat sugar) – I like the vanilla flavoured

Method:

Boil water,  pour into glass pitcher or tea pot, add decafe green tea, tea bags, allow to steep (I let it sit for 1/2 hr – 1 hr!).  Once steeped, remove tea bags and stir in sugar or sweetner (you can adjust to taste). Chill.  Serve. EnJOY.

I love hearing your comments!  Please leave me a comment and check me out on Facebook, Linked In and follow joyskitchen on Twitter!

From My kitchen  to yours – Happy & Healthy Eating!

Joy

4 responses to “My 7 Steps to Get Healthy & Green Tea Iced Tea!

  1. I’m not much of a green tea drinker either but after a while, you kind of get used to the taste. But I’m glad I can switch it up with this green tea iced tea now.

    Like

  2. Pingback: enJoy the journey to Gluten Free | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: How to Change Your Eating Habits - Unusual But Effective Tricks to Healthy Eating

  4. I take green tea regulary because it is good for the health and it is rich in antioxidants. .

    My very own internet page
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-for-jet-lag/

    Like

Leave a Reply

