Excer-SIZE & get your Ass off the Couch Hummus

Does anyone else get uninspired about what to blog about sometimes?  Ever feel like you sit down and your mind is blank?  I call this my – Too Comfortable-Sitting-Vegging-On-The-Couch-Mode.   Gotta get out of this habit – so easy to get into!  They say to create a habit it takes 3 weeks, hmmm, so I’m thinking the 3 weeks left in April are my 3 weeks to turn my bad habits back into good ones!

Last weekend I catered the Grand Opening of Royally Fit Fitness Boutique in Bowmanville, owned and operated by Ashley Dale Roy – who has been  my bootcamp instructor and general ass kicker on and off over the last few years.

To combat my non-committal  to a topic and laziness this week and in an effort to get my ass off the couch (somehow I fell off the exercise wagon lately) – I am challenging myself OUT loud and announcing it to you (harder to get out of the commitment this way).  I’ve decided to make a commitment to get my ass out to at least 3 of the classes offered at Royally Fit.  There are 4 that I want to try this month, but I need to make it out to 3 this week (or in a time pinch make it out to 2 and go for a run for a 3rd workout).

The classes that I want to take are: Kettlebell Ass Kicker  for cardio, strength & flexibility, Flashdance for fun my core, and stress relief, Piloga for abs and stretching and UGI Fit for a full on total body workout in 30 min (plus time for stretching).  Which ones would YOU do?

So there I said it – now I have to do it!  Right? Right!   Anyone want to join me?

After a workout – its aways a good idea to snack on something with a protein and a carb (no a hamburger does not count!!) Here is my Get Your Ass  off the Couch to get the Humus reward recipe.

Spicy-Garlicky-OH-SO-Good Humus

  • 1 Can of chick peas, retain 1/2 of the water in the can, drain and rinse the rest of the chick peas
  • 2 TB Tahini
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 1 TB minced garlic
  • 1/4-1/2  tsp salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • chipotle chili powder OR 1 chipotle chili & 2 TB adobe sauce
  • raw carrots for dipping

In a  food processor (I would refrain from using a mini processor as you may burn out the motor), add all ingredients and process for about 1-2 minutes or until smooth. Adjust seasoning as needed.  Cover and refrigerate, for a 1/2 hr -1 hr before serving to let the flavours come together.  (Recommended but not necessarily).  Will keep in the fridge for a few days.   Serve with raw veggies, pita’s or crackers!  Also great in a sandwich with some red onion.  enJOY,

I love when you leave comments and Like my post!  Don’t forget to like us on Facebook (Joy In Your Kitchen page) and Follow Us on Twitter (joyskitchen)!

 

 

4 responses to “Excer-SIZE & get your Ass off the Couch Hummus

  1. flamingodebra

    I just can’t get out of couch mode it seems…. I’ll have to get after it too! Wish I was closer – I’d go to class with you….. sounds like a blast! Especially Flashdance…… do you still have legwarmers?

    Like

    • no but I had 13 pairs when I was a kid! I bought some from the dollar store for Leea but she wears them on her arms – go figure! Too bad you aren’t closer but 3000km away is a bit of a commute! lol

      Like

  2. Yes I’m suffering the I-can’t-get-my-arse-of-the-couch-syndrome right now (with wine)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Vacation Right. Eat Right. No they aren’t mutually exclusive! | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

