Rice, Pickles & Fish Chowder

Is anyone out there Rice Challenged?   By this I mean – I can not cook rice on the stovetop. I have no idea why – its like a mental block.  We eat rice all the time so Thank Goodness for my rice cooker.

How did this happen?  I used to make rice on the stove top all the time – never had a problem wild rice, brown rice, basmati, jasmine – whatever!  I don’t understand how it is that I can make a 3 course  sit down dinner for  20 without batting an eyelash, but without my trusty rice steamer – plain ‘ol rice either crunchy or watery ?

The other thing I am totally challenged with is making pickles – don’t ask me – somewhere along the way I have lost my ability to make my own pickles so now I just steal  am given pickles by my Mother In Law.  (ya!) I figure if these are my two biggest challenges in the kitchen – no big deal – there are always ways to avoid them!  Hubby makes great rice!  My rice steamer and plenty of local pickle makers around for me to get my pickle fix on with!

Do you have any things that challenge you in the kitchen – that really shouldn’t?  Share!

My recipe today is our Dinner from last night – Fish Chowder – and o sooo good!

(sorry about the crappy picture quality – I can’t find my good camera) ahoy – ya ever been to sea Billy?…..Hearty Fish Chowder

Ingredients:
1/4 c butter
1/2 large Onion – chopped
1/2 each of a yellow and orange bell pepper – diced
4 dashes cayenne  pepper or Louisiana type hot sauce
3 cup fish stock
3TB (1.5oz) lemon juice
1 – 2 LB Basa Fillets
100 g shrimp (thats all I had add a LB if you have it!)
Any other seafood you want to add – scallops etc
3 cups white potatoes, peeled and cut into small pieces
2/3 cup chopped cooked bacon (or we use extra lean bacon style ham)

Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins

Buttermilk Cornbread Muffins

2 cup 1% milk
1 – 12 oz can (370 ml) evaporated milk
1 tsp sea salt
1tsp black pepper
1 cup frozen corn
Method:
Fish or Shrimp Stock:  
Peel shrimp – add tails and peels to a saucepan filled with water, 1 large green pepper quartered, tomato (optional), 1 onion quartered, about  1TB thyme, any fish bones or skin you may have or if you are not using shrimp in the recipe – open a can of salmon (packed in water) and pour the salmon water into the sauce pan and add 1/2 a can of salmon to your stock, Bring to a boil and simmer for an hour or longer. (Hint:  make extra and then freeze it in 1 cup sections – those mini snack bags hold a cup).

Method for Fish Chowder:   In a large stock pot – melt butter, add onions and peppers and cook until soft.  Add fish stock and bring to a boil, add potatoes and cook for 10 minutes. Add fish/seafood, bacon, and lemon juice, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add milk and evaporated milk, salt, pepper and hot sauce.  Simmer for a few minutes add frozen corn and simmer for 3-5 minutes. Serve with homemade cornbread muffins for a heart comfort food meal!  EnJOY

I love hearing your feedback – let me know what you think!

From my Kitchen to yours Happy & Healthy Eating

Joy

5 responses to “Rice, Pickles & Fish Chowder

  1. I can make pickles, but I struggle a lot with baking!

    Like

  2. The only rice i can cook without turning it into gloop is basmati – that sucker stays together no matter how badly you boil it up

    Like

  3. a fellow rice challenged person! good to know I am not the only one! lol

    Like

  4. Chowder and cornbread muffins are perfect on chilly days. I’ll definitely try your recipes. My manager before was from Maine and he used to talked of clam chowder and corn bread as something that he missed from home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

