Last Minute Red Beans & Rice

You know those days that you take something out of the freezer to thaw – and think – I’ll figure out a plan later then all of a sudden its 3:45pm and you have no idea what to do with it?  … or is that just me? In any case – that was my situation yesterday afternoon.  At about 3:30pm I realized I had thawed the chorizo (a Spanish sausage) and had no inspiration, and no peppers in the house. Sausage, peppers, onion and potato bake is my “go to” when I am feeling uninspired to come up with something – also a family favourite so at least it works out.  I did what any idea-less foodie would do – I called upon (tweeted) to a few of my foodie friends for suggestions!   @hotpinkapron tweeted back that she was making some red beans and rice with Portuguese sausage – and I though – YUP thats what I want! Obviously from my past posts – you’ve caught on that I really really like southern foods (see my gumbo recipe).   However – I was making dinner for  6pm or so – and didn’t have time to soak my beans and simmer them the way you should (I know I know sacrilege @MSQueenFoods)so I though – what the heck – lets do this the o’ol fashion – hmmm what have I got in the cupboard to make these with?  I gotta say – these were some of the best red beans I’ve made!  Hubby and I each had  servings, my  year old practically licked her plate and my 4 year old – ate most of his (he’s not a big dinner eater – unless its Spaghetti & Mommy’s Meatballs, Mommy’s Taco’s or Mommy’s Pizza …. go figure) . (recipes to  be posted shortly!)

The “Joy” of Red Beans and Rice – southern style – Joy-ified 🙂

 Ingredients:

  •  8 cups of canned kidney beans (rinsed & drained)
  • (this is equivalent to a large commercial 100 oz sized can of kidney beans )
  • 1 1/4LB (approx 500g) Chorizo (chopped)
  • 1 cup chicken stock

  • 1/2 c tomato sauce (I had some leftover homemade so I threw it in – you could just use tomatoes)
  •  1TB minced garlic
  • 2 Tsp HOT Cayenne Pepper Sauce (like Lousianna Sauce)
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

  •  3-4 small (2 large) bay leaves
  • 2 TB dried parsley
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 LB onion diced
  • white parboiled rice
  • optional:  Additional hot sauce like the Gator sauces line or Melinda’s  to add at the table.

Method:
In a large saucepan saute the garlic and onion in EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) for a few minutes until onions are soft, add parsley and bayleaf, add chorizo and cook until no longer pink.

Add beans, chicken stock, and the rest of the spices (except optional additional hot sauces). Simmer stirring occasionally for 45 min- an hour.   Cook rice, serve red beans over rice (some people like the rice added in and some like it over the top.  I added steamed asparagus for a veggie.

Enjoy!  From My Kitchen to Yours – Happy & Healthy Eating!

One response to “Last Minute Red Beans & Rice

  1. Pingback: Top Toodler/Preschool Friendly Dishes …p.s. their healthy too | Blogging from Joy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

